Das Neue Mannheimer Orchester

Das Neue Mannheimer Orchester (DNMO) was established in late 2016 in The Hague by fortepianist Anders Muskens with the aim of recapturing the spirit of music from the period of the original Mannheim Court Orchestra. As an early music ensemble, the DNMO plays on Baroque instruments using historically informed techniques. It is made up of students of the Koninklijk Conservatorium Den Haag and the Conservatorium van Amsterdam. The orchestra is a highly international group, featuring talents from the Netherlands, Belgium, Germany, France, Italy, Spain, Japan, Korea, Singapore, Indonesia, Argentina, Canada, and the United States. The orchestra is composed of flutes, oboes, clarinets, bassoons, horns, the usual complement of strings, and lute continuo. In order to better reconstruct an 18th century orchestra, joint leadership between the maestro at the keyboard and the concertmaster is employed rather than a modern baton conductor. Anders Muskens currently serves as Kapellmeister of the orchestra, with Beniamino Paganini as Vice Kapellmeister.

The DNMO is committed to challenge established boundaries and conventions of the Classical Music world with the goal of rekindling the passion of 18th century performances. DNMO has a number of research initiatives to better understand and reconstruct 18th century orchestral performance practices. In addition to presenting music from well-known masters, the DNMO seeks to present music of lesser known composers which is equally worthy of performance. DNMO’s latest work involves performances of music by members of the Mannheim School of composers.

L’isoletta di cigni

L’isoletta di cigni is an early music ensemble associated with Das Neue Mannheimer Orchester Chamber Soloists. Formed in late 2017 in The Hague, Netherlands, out of students of the Royal Conservatory of The Hague, the ensemble seeks to revive the lush repertory of early to mid 18th century Baroque chamber cantatas with an obligato traverso and basso continuo. The ensemble is highly international and contains diverse backgrounds and nationalities, including members from Norway, Argentina, Canada, and Germany.

Baroque chamber cantatas, regularly heard in the private chambers of wealthy aristocrats, were penned by the greatest composers of the age, including George Frederic Handel, Johann Adolf Hasse, and Antonio Vivaldi. Essentially small-scale opera seria, they feature forms from the opera theatre, like declamatory recitatives and da capo arias. L’isoletta di cigniseeks to bring dramatic rhetoric alongside a commitment to historically-informed performance practice.

In May of 2018, the ensemble will compete in the prestigious Göttingen Händel Competition.


May Kristin Svanholm Hegvold – soprano

Florencia Gómez – traverso

Verena Spies – baroque cello

Anders Muskens – harpsichord

Trio Cassiopeia

Trio Cassiopeia is an early music chamber ensemble made up of Dominic Giardino (historical clarinet), Alaia Ferran (baroque viola), and Anders Muskens (historical keyboards). Formed at the Royal Conservatoire of The Hague, they collaborate on Classical and Romantic chamber music on period instruments. 


Dominic Giardino – clarinet

Alaia Ferran – viola

Anders Muskens – pianoforte

Anton Eberl Piano Quartet

The Anton Eberl Piano Quartet is comprised of Anders Muskens (fortepiano, harpsichord), Anna Jane Lester (violin), Lena Rademann (viola), and Evan Buttar (cello) and takes its namesake from Anton Eberl, a Viennese composer and pupil of Mozart. Eberl lived and worked in the late 18th century and early 19th century, and the focus of the quartet is to revive repertoire from this period on historical instruments.


Anna Jane Lester – violin

Lena Rademann – viola

Evan Buttar – cello

Anders Muskens – harpsichord and pianoforte